Welcome to My World! Let’s Begin the Journey…

Hello Everyone,

Michelle (photography by D. Blake: http://diedreblake.carbonmade.com)

I am Michelle.  After almost 20 years of working in the restaurant industry, I have decided to put pen to paper and set my thoughts down about my various experiences.  More importantly, I have decided to share the philosophy that I have developed, which enabled me to become a server of superior standing, or as I like to put it; a server-extraordinaire. 

On this blog, I will be sharing short anecdotes about daily restaurant and/or home life of being a single mom, images, and server/ restaurant tips.  Currently, I am in the process of writing my book, W.O.W. Factor! The Journey of a Server-Extraordinaire, about my life and experiences in the restaurant industry; and its accompanying skills-training manual for restaurant owners/managers, trainers, servers and other waitstaff personnel; W.O.W. Factor! What it takes to be a Server- Extraordinaire.  I will be sharing some excerpts from these writings as well.   And so, just to get us off on the right foot: 

Remember these Two Points!
1. W.O.W. is:  Welcoming
 OutstandingWondrous
2.
Being Outstanding requires S.P.E.E.D.  (This one, however, I am keeping secret until the book and manual are published… but you can always guess!)

Villa Borghese (photography by D. Blake: http://diedreblake.carbonmade.com)

So, I am welcoming you to journey with me, and to discover what makes you outstanding, and what makes the world of the restaurant industry wondrous

 

-M’Shell, server-extraordinaire

About Michelle D. Blake
Michelle Blake, server-extraordinaire/ trainer/ consultant, has worked for almost 20 years within the restaurant industry in many of North America’s most esteemed and recognizable eateries. Born in Jamaica, where she completed high school, Michelle then moved to the United States in the early 90s to study civil engineering at the University of Central Florida. During the course of her studies, she realized that she wanted a different path for herself, and set out in search of it. Since then her path has been one filled with many adventures: paralegal studies, becoming a nail technician, and eventually a real estate agent are among the diverse fields of which Michelle has knowledge alongside her expertise in server training in the restaurant industry.

Leave a comment